Week 6: Hospital Observation

3rd-trimester

42 days.  I can’t believe it’s been 42 days in the hospital.  We are officially in the final countdown – 9 days until we get to meet our boys!!  It’s crazy to think just  how long I’ve been here.  Talk about an emotional rollercoaster – and now the reality of we are so very close to the arrival day! I’m so excited to see what the boys look like, if either of them have bruises from what feels like the fight club going on in my belly, and just how big they really are!  All very exciting things!

I’ve officially started to swell.  Somehow my body held off almost 34 weeks but this morning marked the day I had to take my wedding ring off.  I had actually just popped it off to check on the swelling, and once it was off, I realized it was not going back on.  Then they weighed me… 5 pounds in a week!  WHAT?  I’m hoping that just means those boys are getting chunky, and not that my late night Cheetos snacks are making their way to my hips! 🙂

Sleep is hit and miss now.  Some nights when I shut everything down after my last monitoring I can fall asleep pretty quickly.  Other nights, like last night, I stay up until 3am or later with my mind in full racing mode.  With the early monitoring that means I’m getting about 6 hours of sleep – which is FAR LESS than this sleepaholic girl needs to function.  I learned my lesson about napping in the day though.  Talk about a bad night, I napped one day and regretted it all night.  Now, even if I don’t get ALL the sleep I would have liked, I stay awake and it makes for a quicker night.  Perhaps, it’s natures way of getting me ready for two crying, hungry babies throughout the night.  Talk about a fun wake up call.  5 years ago Chris and I got our little Parker (dog) she slept right beside the bed and would whimper in the middle of the night to go potty, I being the peach I am in the middle of the night would angrily say some profanity and take her outside.  I still vividly remember Chris’ words those nights “how are you ever going to make it with a baby?” Well, we shall find out shortly! 🙂  I still am not taking the Ambien, at this point I figure the less medicated sleep I can get the more equipped I’ll be for “life on the outside” haha! Getting comfortable is another challenge.  I can’t lay on either of my sides because both babies have taken up residency there, so whichever side I pick leads to an attack of kicks, punches and wiggles.  Inevitably, I end up on my back at about a 45 degree angle.  I guess I can say I’m thankful for hospital beds adjusting.  Although the actuator (I think that’s the name of the part) of my bed may be close to its end or in desperate need of some WD40 from all my movement back and forth.

New mom anxiety is another subject that I’m battling. Hospital life anxiety I think was a distraction of just what was really happening.  In 9 short days I’m going to be a Mom. Of course, for the last four years I’ve been a parent, but these were elementary aged kids.  Now, it’s going to be babies.  There are so many rules for babies.  I’ve gathered that from watching friends and family have babies, it seems there’s a rule for everything.  I really believe I may have been made to have babies in the 80’s, you know if I wasn’t just born and all that.  My mom tells me all the time, we didn’t know any of that then… or we never heard that.  This overwhelming amount of information available and solicited by EVERYONE is a lot.  I’m happy to know for at least a period of time my responsibility will be to ensure the babies are eating, playing, sleeping, and then repeating. I think during that time I can get a grasp on everything! I’m comforted in knowing that I’m not the only one who around this time starts having these feelings – according to the multiple blogs and books I’ve read it’s normal. I can’t believe it’s finally so close!twins-comic

We are 2 days away from a giant milestone of 34 weeks and there are no signs that the boys are trying to sneak out early.  They are active (VERY ACTIVE), big babies that seem very happy camping out in my ribs for the time being.  Good thing is they get to stay for another 9 days.  I say good thing, but they may be ready for some room to stretch out by now too!

 

Leave a Reply

