The Final Countdown

I just wrapped up my final perinatology (high risk) appointment that will be in the office.  In 6 short days I’ll be checking into my new home at the antenatal in-patient facilities of Harris Methodist downtown for my fetal monitoring until the boys are delivered.

Everything looked good today.  I was hooked up to the monitors for the first time and both babies heartbeats were monitored for about 20 minutes along with monitoring for contractions.  I had two contractions (very mild) during that time and the babies heartbeats remained stable and normal throughout the monitoring.  We then went over for a growth ultrasound Baby A weighed 2 lbs 6 oz, and Baby B weighed 2 lbs 4 oz.  Which put them just a tiny bit ahead of schedule and we like that!  The cord insertion looked good and blood was flowing normally.  Baby B’s head was near where the cord inserts into the membrane but our doctor said it wasn’t anything concerning.  Baby A is on my right side very low, and Baby B is up on top on the left side.  Both boys are very active, incredibly active AND strong.  The doctor even commented on how strong they were as they kicked the ultrasound wand around while she was trying to look at everything.  I’m not sure if it’s possible to be bruised from the inside, but it sure does feel like I am from their jabs and kicks!  But strong movement is good!  So, back to nesting for the next 6 days and then hospital time.

Being pregnant is something that is all new to me, literally, every single aspect of it is something new.  I didn’t know what to expect and I continue to not know what to expect.  When I looked at the fetal growth projections for babies over the next couple of weeks I freaked a bit… these babies are going to DOUBLE in size in the next 6 weeks and I’m not physically sure how my body is able to handle that.  God is one powerful being!

Preparing for Twins

Speaking of freak outs… our stroller base arrived.  We registered for the JoovyRoo Twin in which our carseats can sit right in there and it avoids having to move the babies around.  Well, we opened the box and it is HUGE!  I couldn’t believe how big it was, I think it was my first real wake up call just how much it’s going to take for twins!  Our cribs are  the Dream on Me mini cribs and while yes, there are two, they are small and cute and it didn’t really hit me like the stroller.  It’s kind of crazy I don’t think it will hit hubby or I until they are actually here just what it means to have twins.  Complicated pregnancy sure, but TWO babies at the same time.  It’s going to be one heck of a ride!! 🙂

I’m trying to “nest” in this week I have between working and hospital but it’s very hard!  It’s still so early and I feel so behind.  Is it common for most moms to wait until the last minute?  I said I didn’t want an overly decorated themed nursery, but now that I’m on the verge of having no control until I come home with two babies I feel that our nursery is so bare!  There’s nothing!  We need so much more!  Haha, they have beds and diapers, oh do we have diapers, so I guess I should be thanking my lucky stars to have that much!

Leave a Reply

